Home » Goth » Balancing Hippie and Goth

Balancing Hippie and Goth

As stated succinctly in the tagline of my blog title, I’m an enigma.  If you look that word up at Dictionary.com, you find this definition: “a person of puzzling or contradictory character.”  I think that describes me pretty well, as does the title of this blog, Gothic Hippie.  Let me explain.

In 2004, at a relatively advanced age, I became a pagan, and subsequently, a Wiccan.  This bold move on my part did two things.  First, it conjured up (pun intended) all the old hippie tendencies of my youth.  I was an earthy kid, who in middle and high school wore bell bottoms and army jackets with peace sign and ecology flags sewn on it.  I was highly influenced by Rachel Carson’s book, Silent Spring, which ignited the environmental movement.

Sadly, after high school, I got all caught up in the me generation of the 1980’s, and conveniently forgot about my youthful causes.  Wicca brought that back.

Secondly, Wicca awakened my goth side.  I had always had interests in macabre things, such as horror movies (atmospheric, not Freddy Krueger), vampires, dark mythologies, hauntings, etc.  When I began meeting people in the witchcraft community, I became familiar with the goth subculture.  I found that I had a lot of common interests with those folks, and I explored further.  I found more interests and practices that I enjoyed.  Over the course of the past six years, this way of looking at life has become as ingrained in me as my hippie outlook.

I suppose it’s not as diametrically opposed as it appears at first glance.  The hippie movement was a counterculture opposition to the establishment, as is the goth culture.  Without the hippie movement, there might not have been a goth subculture.  They are both cultures that eschew societal norms.  It can cause me a degree of mental tug-of-war at times, but normally it’s a fairly easy balance.

I have tried blogging a few times, both under a Wiccan premise.  Honestly, I found it difficult to write about Wicca or witchcraft all the time.  With this blog, I feel I can talk about a wide range of stuff, both magical and mundane.  If you are reading this, I hope you’ll stop by again!

*photo of very cool button found here
2 thoughts on “Balancing Hippie and Goth

  1. I’m fascinated–I hope to see more from you in the future! I am not goth (I pretty much wear all black, but that is irrelevant) myself, but I am fascinated by the subculture. I’m more of a hippie, and I’m always interested in hearing about alternative paths!

Leave a Reply

